//
you're reading...
Business, Marketing, Social Media Marketing

A Social Media Experiment


A Social Media Experiment: Bring Anthony Bourdain and No Reservations to Orlando

I had thought one day as I was driving to lunch to meet one of my partners and a client at one of the busiest restaurants in Orlando, 4 Rivers BBQ. This place was so busy that I had to park a block away in front of someone’s house.

As we all enjoyed our lunch of BBQ sandwiches, I asked out loud, “Does the world really know about all these great hidden restaurants that we have here in Orlando?” We know that everyone in the Orlando area knows what good BBQ is and that could explain the problem with finding a parking space. So that got me thinking about what makes a restaurant unique which led my thought process down to Anthony Bourdain and his show No Reservations.

I love the show No Reservations and have even been known to watch re-runs if there’s nothing on. And then like the Grinch – I got an idea … an awful idea. I got a wonderful, *awful* idea!

Right then and there, I decided I was going to find a way to bring Anthony Bourdain here to Orlando. We would sit at the 4 Rivers outdoor patio with the No Reservations crew and talk to the owner and enjoy BBQ Orlando style.

The first thing I did was to create my Facebook fan page and sent out emails to all my Facebook friends. A few fans trickled in when a friend posted it on her page and then posted in on a community site. A conversation began to take place about where to send Bourdain and his crew to eat and what makes our town that ‘unique’ place that Bourdain is always talking about.

Then it slowed to a crawl of new fans so I took to twitter. I have almost 400 followers, I was bound to get a group of people who would join my campaign. I can honestly say that a few tweets and #noreservations hashtags does not a movement make.

I checked out the @noreservations twitter page. It looks like someone is answering questions to viewers. Could that be Tony? Hello, Tony … are ya there buddy? I decided that I’d start posting on that page once I get the fan base up a bit more.

So here we go …. I hope that you follow my experiment to see if Social Media can really influence a producer for No Reservations to bring his crew to our city. Because at the end of it all, I just really want to see Bourdain cruising around Wall Street after a night out downtown. He looks around and says, “Hey, they’re right. I don’t see a mouse anywhere. What I see is real people, a real city and damn good real food. So Orlando, I’m sorry for taking so long to get down here to see the real you.”

Join me in my campaign to bring Bourdain to Orlando by clicking on this link: Campaign to bring Bourdain to Orlando
Hit the like button and tell all your friends. IF Facebook can start a revolution and get Betty White on SNL, then why can’t we get No Reservations to come to Orlando?

photo credit:  Bourdain

Discussion

4 thoughts on “A Social Media Experiment

  1. Sounds like fun. Keep it going. Good luck!

    Posted by ben - adventureswithben | 12/19/2011, 7:26 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: We’ve Hit the ‘Bring Bourdain to Orlando’ Campaign Trail « Fox Interactive Consultants - 09/20/2011

  2. Pingback: The Bourdain Social Media Experiment Becomes a Revolution « Fox Interactive Consultants - 03/20/2012

Let me know, what do you think?

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. No bloggers were hurt in the making of these posts.

Search for post topics

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Join us on Facebook

Tweet with us!

