//
you're reading...
Business, Marketing, Social Media Marketing

Confessions from a Twitter Addict

Hello … my name is Penney and I’m a recovering Twitter addict.

{ Hello Penney …. welcome … }

I’ve been in recovery now for 8 months, 2 weeks and 3 days.

Some days I feel like I need to just state this at the beginning of a meeting with a new client who is interested in hiring me to handle their Social Media campaign. I first stuck my toe in the Twitter pond back in 2009 and it didn’t take me long to realize how Twitter could easily ‘feed my need’ for information.

I’m a political junkie and when I realized that I could follow several White House correspondents, I was hooked. And when Twitter offered its users the ability to create lists of our favorite people, well let’s just say I couldn’t wait to get my fix every morning (and often times right before I went to bed at night).

Twitter was everything they said it was … I met friends with the same interests, I made connections for work, I was the first to get the latest news and I was able to engage with other marketing folks to crowdsource Social Media marketing ideas. Hours would fly by and I was the only one of my friends who knew that someone threw a plastic bag over the fence onto the White House lawn which caused the Secret Service to shut down the White House for security reasons for at least an hour.

As work picked up, I found myself struggling each week to stay on deadline while still continuing to get my daily Twitter buzz. How many days did I tell myself, “I can just log on to read this one thing” and then disappeared down the rabbit hole for a few hours? Way too many to count. It was truly starting to affect my work. I knew I needed to do something, a personal intervention so to speak. I started to wonder if there was such a thing as Twitter rehab where they send all the addicted Twitter celebrities like Miley Cyrus, Ashton and a certain Congressman who liked to use Twitter as his own personal online dating site.

After another tough week of balancing my time, I decided it was time to quit. I just went cold turkey and stopped checking my account. I realized that I needed to decompress …. put the mouse down and step away from the computer. I went into withdraws for the first couple of weeks wondering what my friends were talking about (did they even notice that I was gone?) and what was the new high-tech program that was launched or going after their first IPO?

It didn’t take me long to get back on track with work. I found that I was able to find time to start the personal blog that I had talked about writing. I had more time to create more customized Social Media workshops and marketing programs to secure new clients. And the best thing of all, I was able to spend more time with my son when he came home from school. I felt like I had control over my life again.

All of this increased time on my hands helped me grow my business. Then that fateful day came when I locked in a new client who wanted me to help her with her Twitter campaign. I agreed but in my mind I felt like she was asking an alcoholic to get a job as a bartender at Fiddler’s Green Irish Pub. My first thought was, are you crazy? But then I realized that I would have to come to terms with my Twitter usage if I was going to keep growing my company.

As I worked through the client’s project, little by little, I was able to get back into Twitter. I began to find ways to help me ‘work smarter not harder’ and to moderate my usage.

So if you want to connect me with on Twitter, I’m back on at @foxinteractive. I’m back to tweeting about Social Media Marketing and Orlando’s famous party girl, Casey Anthony. At the end of it all, I found a way to do what works for me and to get myself back on the dance floor …. because no one puts Baby in the corner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/laughingsquid/2867257899/

Discussion

One thought on “Confessions from a Twitter Addict

  1. Love, love, love this! I can so relate. Twitter’s Anonymous. TA might not work though. Could get confused with something else. Thanks for the post.

    Posted by Marjorie | 06/30/2011, 3:11 pm

Let me know, what do you think?

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. No bloggers were hurt in the making of these posts.

Search for post topics

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Join us on Facebook

Tweet with us!

