//
you're reading...
Business, Client Solutions, Humor, Marketing, Marketing Strategy, Pinterest, Social Media, Social Media Marketing, Target Market

Just the Pinterest Facts Ma’am

The Pinterest case study continues! As I stated in my first Pinterest post, my marketing ‘spidey-senses’ have been running on full force as I’m learning more about the latest social media obession Pinterest. I’m not going to pretend that I’m only using Pinterest for business and research for my clients. I’ve fallen down the rabbit holes as described in this post from my personal blog: Alice in Pinterest-land.

Here’s what I’ve learned so far … Pinterest has recently recently hit 10 million unique monthly views, which is faster then any other standalone site in US history (Techcrunch). What amazes me the most about their phenomenal growth is that people are spending more time on Pinterest then on Facebook.

Take a look at some of the latest stats about Pinterest from comScore, Techcrunch and Shareaholic:

  • Pinterest users spend 15.8 minutes pinning while Facebookers spend approximately 12.1 minutes checking status updates and looking at their friend’s photos
  • Pinterest drives more referral traffic then Google+, Linkedin and YouTube COMBINED
  • Nearly 1/3 of all the users have an annual household income of $100k
  • Almost 70% of the users are women with the largest demo group falling between 25 – 34
  • The exact Pinterest demo is also the one that is the most valuable to mobile advertisers — young, upper-middle class and female (Flurry Analytics)

I don’t know about you but those statistics just blow me away! How can Pinterest NOT help a company increase their revenue? My research continued as I started to follow the top brands who were using Pinterest. Only one company – GE – followed me back. And then a couple of smaller companies started to follow me but I was looking for more then just a pinner follow click.

When I posted something funny in my Makes Me Smile board, one of the small companies commented on the pin. We engaged in a short conversation and learned a little bit more about each other. After this exchange, it made me wonder if the top brands were just using an intern in the building to upload their images. Most of these companies had discovered their Pinterest ‘voice’ but where was the engagement? The pinners were talking in their comments but where were the companies responding? They reply to their Facebook fans, what’s going on with their Pinterest pages?

What I found out was these companies who kept getting listed as the top Pinterest brands had figured out how to find creative ways to show how their products could fit in with the lifestyles of their target Pinterest audience. Their boards covered more topics then just showing off their products with beautiful photos.

As with any social media (or traditional media for that matter) marketing plan, there needs to be marketing strategy to close the deal and make the sales. I can’t say I found much of a strategy other then what boards to put up and what images to pin.

What I found the most interesting about Pinterest were the success stories of the small businesses using their pin-style boards. Stay tuned for the next installment of my Pinterest case study as I detail the success stories I found. I’ll share with you how your company can utilize their strategies to make Pinterest work for your company.

Is your company using Pinterest? How is this new social media program working for your brand?

Photo credit: Brechtbug

Let me know, what do you think?

Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. No bloggers were hurt in the making of these posts.

Search for post topics

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Join us on Facebook

Tweet with us!

